Next »

Eight Categories of Medical Waste

blog post


Houston Medical Waste Disposal

It's crucial that you know very well what kind of medical waste your facility produces then you can definitely determine the appropriate disposal. The WHO classified the medical waste into eight (8) types of medical waste:

 Infectious waste - Waste that may transmit infection from virus, bacterial, parasites to human, i.e.: lab cultures, tissues, swabs, equipment and excreta
 Sharps - Sharp waste, for example needle, scalpels, knives, blades, etc.
 Pathological - Human tissue or fluids i.e. parts of the body, blood, other fluids
 Radioactive - Unused liquid in radiotherapy or lab research, contaminated glassware, etc.
 Chemical - Expired lab reagents, film developer, disinfectant
 Pharmaceuticals - Expired and contaminated medicines
 Pressurized containers - Gas cylinders and gas cartridges
 General waste (UMW) - No risk to human health because no blood or any related bodily fluid, i.e.: office paper, wrapper, kitchen waste, general sweeping, etc.

Because the management for every single waste categories will vary.

Houston Medical Waste Disposal

Medical waste disposal in Houston for companies made easy. Request a FREE quote now online or call 713-766-0014 now.


Posted Jan 09, 2016 at 11:40pm